What food do Jamaican People eat?

I have a new blog post on my other blog jamaicanlove.org, called “Jamaican food Culture.” which is packed full of information for newbies.

Green Banana

green bananaGreen Banana is one of my favorite Jamaican foods. It’s easy to cook, vegetarian friendly and tastes great with a little bit of butter. Also you can use it to plump up any meal. We boil the bananas in the skin while they are still green, and remove them from the pot when they are tender. I grew up with this so I just love the taste. It’s best to eat it with something a little salty. Also, its kid friendly. You can mash it up with a fork, and put that butter on it, and just watch the kid enjoy it. Yum!

Ackee and Salt fish

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAckee and Salt fish is Jamaica’s International dish. It tastes great and can be eaten at any time of day. You should eat it with something a little plain though cause its a little salty lol. Yes, we do often eat green banana with the Ackee and Salt Fish in case you were wondering. lol.

Fried Dumpling / Festival

Jamaicans eat a lot of fried dumpling. We usually eat it for breakfast with some plantain. Plantain is sweet and the dumpling is a little dull tasting so they go good together. We usually have this breakfast on a Sunday or Saturday morning, with some hot Chocolate. Oh I just love it. By the way some Caribbean people put a little sugar into the dumpling before they fry it, this is called “Festival.” Yum!!!

Rice and peas

Many Jamaicans eat Rice and peas many times per week. I just love it. Sometimes I eat alone. Every time I think about it i want to go and buy some or make some. I want to buy it right now. I love rice and peas! As for my spirituality I am not allowed to eat meat, so I like to cook Rice and peas. Many Jamaican People like to eat rice and peas for dinner with just about any other type of food.

Jerk Chicken

jerk chickenJerk Chicken is another popular international dish from Jamaica. One night after a party during the wee hours of the morning, I saw people lined up down the street in little Jamaica (here in Toronto) just to get some Jerk Chicken. I could not believe it. That is how much people love it. It is really good. I am vegan, so no more Jerk Chicken for me. Jamaican also make Jerk Pork, which from what I can remember was delicious back in my meat-eating days.

Stew Chicken

Stew Chick is my favorite Jamaican dish. It tastes like heaven. Then again, all Jamaican food tastes like heaven to me. I often buy Rice and Peas when I go to a Jamaican Restaurant, and ask them to put a little stew Chicken gravy on it. Yum.

One More Favorite!!!

I don’t think this one will excite you so much unless you have already tried it. Its called cabbage. lol Yeah it’s just cabbage-salad-main~s600x600called cabbage. But its the way it’s cooked. They slice it up, fry it in some oil, with some black pepper and some onion, it tastes like heaven. I know I keep saying that. But it really does taste like heaven to me. Get the Recipe for Jamaican Style Cabbage here.

Well that’s it for me….

Jah Bless, Ras – Tafari

9 thoughts on “What food do Jamaican People eat?

  1. I have been dating a Jamaican man who I have grown to love very much, learing to cook his native food is very exciting.since I am an American Woman.your recipes are very helpful…thank you!

    Like

  2. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It will always be interesting to read articles from other writers and use something from their sites.

    Like

Leave a comment