Serious Rasta Rant

This is my Serious Rasta Rant. Am I having a bad day? Yes. But there are some realities I want to get out. This is how I started my Jamaicanrastafarianlove blog in the first place. I wanted a place to put my thoughts feelings and experiences…

Ok so I was often asking my self this question, why do so many black men (and black women) want to marry and date outside their “Race?” (I use the term loosely) Well, for the longest time I was very judgemental about this. I thinking….
You hate yourself
You don’t know yourself
You just want to be white
You want to appear less black
etc.

Now I realize they want to save themselves and their children from pain. I face pain as a black woman in my life in Toronto Canada everyday. It all pretty much based on the color of my skin. If a person I am interacting with cannot see me, we have no problems and I usually get what I want.
when I have to hash our a problem face to face, some people just screw with me because I am black and they think its fun. Sometimes I think that people of other nations think that black women do not have feelings or thoughts. That it is socially acceptable to “dump on” a black woman…and they are absolutely right.

Today in all my pain I wondered…

Today in all my pain I wondered to my self? Where is there a black womans support group. It could be bible based or not bible based, there needs to be some sort of black women support group. We are making other people’s pockets rich because we do not like our appearance…we run into so many walls and we have no support. Ok I need to explain…

Beauty shop Education

I went to the beauty shop with a friend yesterday. This person is transgendered. Male to female. Whatever to me “she” is a person. So, we go to the beauty shop. She starts getting into it with the supervisor of the store because a week ago she was there and one of the black attendants refered to her as a “he.” So,. the request of my friend was that they should “hire some white European women” to work the floor because they are more open-minded to the Transgendered thing.

Fine…So the Supervisor eventually said, we hire black people because when black women come in here they want to see their own. Well I had to give her a quick education. I said “Miss, From a black womans mind…The truth is…black women do not want to look like black women…black women want to look like white women…” You should have seen the glazed look come over her face. Like I had just opened the door to increased profits for her. If she would bring more white women to work in there, do you know how much more bleaching cream they could sell, and blond weave? I know this sounds like I am making a joke, and I know not all black women think like this, but I have met many who do. I am not one of them, that is why I am so comfortable speaking about it, cause it doesn’t apply to me.

Making money off black pain…

The point is….people are making money off of black women’s pain and self-hatred of their natural appearance, and there is no support group? I guess I have to start it. There needs to be support. I keep meeting too many black women who do not know who they are, who do not know what Rastafari is, who are jealous of me because of the length of my hair, who are jealous of me because I know my self….who need to learn how to earn money independently….

We black women need each other…

Black women we need each other, the black community on a whole needs to unite. But I need a space online just for black women to uplift each oter. This is my serious Rasta Rant. I didn’t mean to offend any one.
Blessed. Love.

Books/eBooks

*   “How to Become a Rasta”“Rastafari: Beliefs & Principles” (new 2014)*

“Rastafari: African American Spirituality”“How to Date a Jamaican Man”“White Rastafari” *

Available on www.amazon.com

About Empress

Blessed. My name is Empress. I am a Rastafari Livity writer, blogger, and song writer. My goal is to teach others how to share more love and have more unity through the values and truths of Rastafari. Check my Rasta books on amazon, or visit me on my blogs. www.https://jamaicanloveblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Jamaica Men & Women, Miscellaneous, Rastafari and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

