Racism and Culturism is Real

As a Rastafari Empress I experience a lot of Racism and Culturalism. I don’t see why people have to hate on me because I have dreadlocks and I am black. every time I experience hatred and culturalism I am going to put it on my blog.

I was in an internet cafe on Yonge street near Wellsley. I sat in a seat to use the computer. I was waiting for my friend to come back from the bank machine so we could pay for the computers. I put her purse in the seat beside me, and I sat in the window seat. In about 5 minutes the tendee was telling me I had to get up cause someone paid for the seat.

I was like what??? I said “I am sitting right here!” She was like sorry somebody paid for that seat. I said I am right here I told you I was waiting for my friend. She was like well he paid for that seat. I said to her, he paid for the time not for the seat. I am sitting right here. Suddenly I had 3 people surrounding me telling me I had to get up because the guy had been there before me. I said well he was not here when I sat down. I am here.

To me this was Racism. do you know that all but 2 seats in the room were available out of 8. The tendee should have told the guy, that “sorry, I think there is someone in that seat right now.” But she didn’t say that.

Today I was in the library. I was reading the story of Harriet Tubman and how she was inspired to help slaves get free. I realized wearing my locks out is a very important symbol. I’m not going to run, I am not going to be afraid. I am going to stand up and fight.

The last thing I said in the room of internet cafe computers…was “If I had been a white woman, or a white man, she would not have done that.” Nobody said anything back to me.

I have a very rich culture and history that I am very proud of. Black people still have to stand strong and firm for their rights. Especially if they are a Natty like me. ‘

Jah bless

Read my blog post here entitled “Are Rastafarians just dirty?”

About Empress

Blessed. My name is Empress. I am a Rastafari Livity writer, blogger, and song writer. My goal is to teach others how to share more love and have more unity through the values and truths of Rastafari. Check my Rasta books on amazon, or visit me on my blogs. www.https://jamaicanloveblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Jamaica Culture, Rastafari and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

